Qui sommes-nous ?

Notre histoire

Teach for Senegal est né de l'expérience de vie et de la vocation ultime de notre fondatrice, Raby Gueye. Éducatrice et entrepreneuse, elle connaît depuis son plus jeune âge son destin, celui de travailler pour les gens ordinaires et les jeunes. 

 

Raby est née et a grandi dans la campagne sénégalaise jusqu'à l'âge de huit ans - où sa famille a immigré aux États-Unis en tant que réfugiés en raison d'un conflit qui a touché sa famille. Comme de nombreuses familles de réfugiés, l'adaptation à un nouveau pays s'est accompagnée de défis et d'épreuves. Avec les encouragements des enseignants, Raby et ses frères et sœurs ont maintenu le cap et ont même aidé leurs parents à s'orienter dans la vie quotidienne en Amérique tout en recevant une éducation.

 

Tout au long de ses années de formation à l'école, Raby s'est rendu compte que l'éducation est essentielle pour atteindre son plein potentiel et s'épanouir, mais elle se demandait pourquoi de telles disparités en matière d'éducation existaient dans son pays d'origine et dans le monde entier. Puisant dans ses passions, à savoir la réalisation de son potentiel et la résolution de problèmes, elle a commencé à rendre service à la jeunesse sénégalaise pendant ses études secondaires. C'est là qu'elle a été encouragée à explorer une carrière dans le droit des droits de l'homme, car elle aspirait à travailler pour aider les réfugiés à connaître moins de difficultés que celles qu'elle a endurées avec sa famille. Mais pendant ses études à l'Arizona State University, elle s'est orientée vers une carrière dans l'éducation grâce à son expérience d'enseignement dans un organisme d'aide aux réfugiés, dans une communauté mal desservie en Inde, ainsi que dans le cadre du programme Teach for America. 

 

Ces expériences d'enseignement ont révélé l'importance de la représentation culturelle dans la salle de classe et dans le programme scolaire. Raby a également réalisé la nécessité de perturber le système, tout en travaillant à l'intérieur de celui-ci, si l'on veut que les enfants réalisent vraiment leur but. En commençant par sa propre communauté, elle a développé Teach For Senegal avec l'aide de mentors pour faire de ce travail motivé une réalité. Actuellement, Raby et son équipe établissent des partenariats avec le gouvernement sénégalais afin de créer une vision collective entre eux, ainsi qu'avec les communautés que Teach For Senegal servira selon les valeurs fondamentales de leadership et d'empathie, ainsi que d'enracinement local et d'information globale.

 

Le talent des jeunes Africains est palpable ; leur passion est encore plus évidente. Teach For Senegal ne veut pas seulement inspirer la diaspora à rentrer chez elle et à investir dans le continent, mais aussi illustrer la capacité des jeunes Africains à avoir la possibilité de résoudre leurs propres problèmes - sans aide - afin de préparer les enfants au monde réel.

 

21092017-_AMM6977-2.jpg

NOS VALEURS FONDAMENTALES

Meilleur humain

Sentiment de possibilité

Ici pour servir

Dirigé par la communauté

Respect profond pour les enfants

Nous croyons qu'un monde meilleur commence avec nous. Nous travaillons donc à cultiver la conscience de soi en approfondissant la connaissance de soi par la pratique réflexive. Nous comprenons que le moi est un voyage de toute une vie; nous gardons un espace pour nous-mêmes et les autres à travers ce travail.

Nous pensons que la question de l’éducation de qualité est urgente. Nous prenons toutes les mesures nécessaires avec la pleine conscience que notre travail signifie maintenant que les enfants des communautés défavorisées pourraient avoir des opportunités de vie nettement meilleures que ce qui est possible aujourd'hui.

Nous AGISSONS dans le sens du changement et de l'alignement avec nos valeurs; au service de l'œuvre de justice sociale et éducative.

Nous croyons que la communauté doit mener un changement durable et avoir tout le nécessaire pour diriger ce changement.

«Les enfants sont des êtres humains auxquels le respect est dû, supérieurs à nous en raison de leur innocence et des plus grandes possibilités de leur avenir… Traitons-les avec toute la gentillesse que nous souhaiterions contribuer à développer en eux. - Maria Montessori

Raby Gueye

Fondateur et PDG

Raby Gueye est le fondateur et le PDG de Teach For Senegal. Originaire de Podor, au Sénégal. À l'âge de 8 ans, Raby a déménagé aux États-Unis, et depuis lors, elle a maintenu un engagement fort pour les questions de justice sociale. À l'Arizona State University, Raby a participé à des recherches sur la violence sexiste en République démocratique du Congo. Son rôle de professeur d'anglais dans des communautés mal desservies en Inde lui a permis de collaborer avec un groupe diversifié d'ONG pour aider à augmenter le taux d'alphabétisation. En 2015, elle a été recrutée par Teach For America pour rejoindre un corps national de diplômés universitaires récents et de professionnels qui s'engagent à enseigner dans des écoles publiques urbaines et rurales. En tant qu'enseignante, Raby a donné la priorité à l'établissement de relations solides avec ses élèves et ses familles afin de créer un environnement où toutes les familles se sentent accueillies et incluses. 

 

Boursière 2019 d'Echoing Green, Raby est titulaire d'une licence en études mondiales et d'un master en enseignement élémentaire de l'Arizona State University. Raby a également eu l'honneur de figurer dans le classement Forbes 30 Under 30.

NOTRE CONSEIL D'ADMINISTRATION

Ndéye Maimouna Diop Diagne occupe actuellement le poste de conseillère technique TIC au ministère des Télécommunications et des TIC du Sénégal. Depuis 1994, elle est ingénieur en informatique.  Mme Diop Diagne est l'une des représentantes du Sénégal au sein de l'ICANN, une organisation mondiale multipartite créée par le gouvernement américain et son ministère du commerce. Elle participe également aux activités du Forum des éducatrices africaines (FAWE). Elle est actuellement présidente du conseil d'administration de Teach For Senegal.

Liz Grossman-Kitoyi est cofondatrice et directrice générale de Baobab Consulting, où elle gère des programmes de communication, de relations publiques et interculturels pour certains des leaders africains les plus puissants dans les domaines de la politique, du développement, de l'éducation et des affaires, ainsi que pour leurs homologues américains.

Aminata Diop est titulaire d'un doctorat du programme d'éducation urbaine du CUNY Graduate Center et assistante exécutive du doyen de l'école d'éducation du CCNY. Mme Diop est titulaire d'un B.S. en systèmes d'information, d'un M.A. en culture et communication et d'un MPA de l'université de New York. Sa thèse de doctorat porte sur l'intersectionnalité entre la culture, la langue et l'identité sociale des jeunes américano-sénégalais de retour au pays.

Who We Are

Our Story

Teach for Senegal was birthed from the life experience and ultimate life calling of our founder, Raby Gueye. An educator and entrepreneur, she’s known since her youth her destiny of purpose-driven work for everyday people and young people. 

 

Raby was born and raised in rural Senegal until she was eight years old—where her family immigrated to the United States as refugees due to a conflict that impacted her family. Just like many refugee families, adjusting to a new country came with its challenges and trials. With the encouragement of teachers, Raby and her siblings stayed the course and even helped their parents navigate daily life in America while they received an education.

 

Throughout her formative years in school, it became clear to Raby being educated is vital for one to be able to reach their full potential and thrive, but wondered why such education disparities exist in her home country and all over the world. Tapping into her passions of being a potential fulfiller and problem solver, she began her consistent service work for Senegalese youth while in high school. There, she was encouraged to explore a career in human rights law, as she aspired to work towards helping refugees experience fewer challenges that she endured with her family. But during her time as a student at Arizona State University, she transitioned pursuing a career in education from her experience teaching at a refugee agency, in an underserved community in India as well as a Teach for America educator. 

 

These teaching experiences revealed the importance of cultural representation in the classroom and in the curriculum. Raby also realized the need to disrupt the system, while working within it, if children were to truly realize their purpose. Starting with her own community, she developed Teach For Senegal with the help of mentors to make this purpose-driven work a reality. Currently, Raby and her team are building partnerships with the Senegalese government to create a collective vision among themselves, as well as with the communities Teach For Senegal will serve under the core values of leadership and empathy, as well as being locally rooted and globally informed.

The talent from Africa’s youth is palpable; their passion is even more evident. Teach For Senegal not only wants to inspire the diaspora to return home and invest in the continent but to also exemplify the ability for young Africans to be given the room to finally solve their own issues—without aid—to prepare children for the real world.

21092017-_AMM6977-2.jpg

OUR CORE VALUES

Better Human

Sense of Possibility

Here to Serve

Community-Led

Deep Respect For Children

We believe a better world begins with us. So we work on cultivating self-awareness by deepening self-knowledge through reflective practice. We understand that self is a lifelong journey; we hold space for ourselves and others through this work.

We believe the issue of quality education is an urgent one. We take every action with the full realization that our work now means that children in underprivileged communities could have significantly better life opportunities than what is possible today.

We ACT in the direction of change and alignment with our values; in service of the work of social and educational justice. 

We believe the community must lead sustainable change and have all necessary to lead this change.

“Children are human beings to whom respect is due, superior to us because of their innocence and of the greater possibilities of their future… Let us treat them with all the kindness which we would wish to help to develop in them.” - Maria Montessori

Raby Gueye Founder and CEO of Teach For

Raby Gueye

Founder & CEO

Raby Gueye is the founder and CEO of Teach For Senegal. Originally from Podor, Senegal. At the age of 8, Raby moved to the United States, and since then, she has maintained a strong commitment to social justice issues. At Arizona State University, Raby assisted with research on gender violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo. Her role as an English teacher in underserved communities in India allowed her to collaborate with a diverse group of NGOs to help increase the literacy rate. In 2015, she was recruited by Teach For America to join a national corps of recent college graduates and professionals who commit to teaching in urban and rural public schools. As a teacher, Raby prioritized building strong relationships with her students and families to create an environment where all families feel welcomed and included. 

A 2019 Echoing Green Fellow, Raby has a bachelor’s in Global Studies and a master’s degree in Elementary Education from Arizona State University. Raby was also honored to be featured in Forbes 30 Under 30. She was also honored at the 2022 World Youth Forum by the president of Eygpt for her work at Teach For Senegal. 

Board of Directors 

Ndeye Maimouna Teach For Senegal.jpeg

Ndeye Maimouna Diop Diagne is currently holding the position of ICT technical advisor at Senegal's Ministry of Telecommunications and ICT. Since 1994, she has been a computer engineer.  Diop Diagne serves as one of Senegal's Representatives in ICANN, which is a global multi-stakeholder organization that was created by the U.S. government and its Department of Commerce. She also takes part in the activities of the Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE).

1582538080370.jpeg

Fatou K. Badiane-Toure has a passion for enabling access to unique education programs for motivated youth globally. She currently serves as the Global Director of Outreach at Minerva University, a selective university offering a global education program to prepare a generation of transformative leaders and innovators to solve the most complex challenges of our time. Prior to this role, she served as Minerva's Director of Outreach in Africa, Europe, and the Middle East; and previously as Associate Director of Admissions, Francophone West and Central Africa at African Leadership Academy. 

Fatou holds a Masters in International Education with a focus on African Education from Teachers College - Columbia University, a Masters in Information Technology Management from Illinois Institute of Technology, and a Bachelors in Computer Information Systems from Towson University. 

Liz Teach For Senegal.JPG

Liz Grossman-Kitoyi is the Co-Founder and CEO of Baobab Consulting, where she runs communications, PR, and intercultural programs for some of Africa’s most powerful leaders in politics, development, education, and business, as well as their American counterparts.

Prior to starting Baobab Consulting, Liz held several leadership roles at Tostan in Dakar, Senegal, notably Senior Strategic Relationship Manager for the Tostan Training Center. While there, she wrote and implemented the social enterprise plan to expand Tostan’s revenue streams through a business lens, selling training on the organization’s development model to over 150 participants including community development leaders, international donors, academics, business people, and field staff from over 30 countries. Furthermore, Liz spent three years as a teacher and administrator at an International Baccalaureate high school, also in Dakar. She has consulted for governments, nonprofits, UN agencies, and policy think tanks based in the US and Africa.